Inseparable

“Who can separate us from the love of God?”  Romans 8:35

It strikes me that sometimes I can miss the biggest, most obvious detail or fact that is right in front of me.  You’ve heard the expression, “Having a ‘boy look’”.  It’s similar to the common sexist over-generalization that women can’t read maps.  Whenever a guy can’t find something, every woman in the vicinity shakes her head and says, “He’s having a boy look.”

Ok, so I admit that often times what I will be looking for is right in front of me.  Like looking for my keys when they are sitting on the desk twelve inches away.  Or looking for my glasses and realising they are still on my face.  I wonder how I can miss something that is so blindingly obvious.  My brain must take in the visual information, but for some reason that I just can’t fathom, it doesn’t seem to make the connection.

I was contemplating the verses at the end of Romans 8 tonight, and I feel like for years I have been having a ‘boy look’ at these verses.  Tonight I fully realised something that has been as plain as day in the text, but yet my brain has filtered out the information and my understanding has been completely retarded.

Paul writes, “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? … No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  (v35,37-39)

It’s amazing how often I feel like God can’t love me.  How I am never good enough.  How I must try harder to earn his love.  How I am so sinful and so unworthy of his love.

It’s through this filter of self-loathing that must have viewed these verses in the past.  But for so many years I have been having a boy look, neglecting the obvious truth of these verses.

Nothing in all of creation can separate me from God’s love.  Nothing.  Not my friends.  Not angels, or demons.  Not my mistakes.  Not my sins.  NOTHING.

And I missed the few verses before it as well, “If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. Who then is the one who condemns? No one.”

Who can condemn me?  The only person that has the right to condemn me is God, because he is the only one who is truly faultless.  But like Jesus with the woman in John 8, he asks, “Where are they? Has no one condemned you.” The answer: “No one, sir.”  Jesus replied, “Then neither do I …”  Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen?  God won’t.  He has justified me.

It really can’t get any more obvious than that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

